Auto Apps (Renovate, Dependabot)
Configuration related to PRs created by apps such as Renovate.
Managing app logins
You can manage a list of GitHub Apps and machine users.
By default, renovate[bot] and dependabot[bot] are configured.
auto_apps:
logins:
- "renovate[bot]"
- "dependabot[bot]"
Preventing auto-merge of dangerous changes
While auto-merging safe Renovate PRs reduces review burden, you need to prevent dangerous changes from being auto-merged. There are two approaches to prevent auto-merge:
- Disable auto-merge
- Dismiss approval (note that auto-merge occurs if approval is not required)
The default behavior is:
- For app PRs with "No Change" results: auto-merge remains enabled and approval is not dismissed, allowing automatic merge
- For app PRs with changes (not "No Change"): auto-merge is disabled and approval is dismissed, preventing automatic merge
If approval is required to merge a PR, disabling auto-merge is unnecessary and dismissing the approval is sufficient. In that case, you can prevent auto-merge from being disabled:
auto_apps:
allow_auto_merge_change: true
The default settings err on the side of safety.
Disabling auto-merge
In tfaction v2, when the terraform plan result of a Renovate PR is not "No Change", auto-merge is disabled to prevent unexpected changes from being applied automatically.

You can also prevent auto-merge from being disabled:
auto_apps:
allow_auto_merge_change: true
Dismissing approval
When the terraform plan result of an app PR is "No Change", approvals are not dismissed.
Otherwise, approvals are dismissed as with other PRs.
This behavior can't be changed, but you can disable dismissing approvals entirely.
For details, see Dismiss approval before plan.